I came across an inspired post on the personal growth blog
The Bridgemaker about 10 Things You Wish You Had Never Learned.  I immediately applied it to all the
beauty boo-boos made over my lifetime, due to peer pressure (see number 4),
misinformation (number 5) or simply following ill-conceived trends (number 1).

Zen-Print-C10126600

According to The Bridgemaker, in order to live a fulfilling life, you must recognize the negative beliefs that you carry with you in order
to release them.  While I think I
have released a few of my 10 (see number 1), there are a number of them that
are still completely hard-wired and I have to make a conscience effort to
correct (such as number 6).

10 things about beauty I wish I never learned:

  1. I wish
    I had never learned that perms were trendy.
  2. I wish
    I had never learned that blue eyeshadow was tacky.
  3. I wish
    I had never learned that tanned skin equals healthy.
  4. I wish
    I had never learned that popping cystic acne would not cause scarring.
  5. I wish
    I had never learned that fad/crash diets were the best way to lose weight.
  6. I wish
    I had never learned that only neutral makeup was flattering.
  7. I wish
    I had never learned that it was important to wash your face at least twice
    a day.
  8. I wish
    I had never learned that hair should be washed daily.
  9. I wish
    I had never learned that shaving was better than waxing.
  10. I wish
    I had never learned that super-skinny women were healthier, happier and more successful.

Feel free to share your own lists. I would love to hear
from others on as we travel on the path towards beauty zen.

 

